top of page


The AHEPA MOTHER LODGE CHAPTER No. 1 EDUCATIONAL FUND was established in 1986 and now serves the cultural and educational programs of AHEPA Chapter No. 1, DOP Chapter No. 53 and AHEPA Chapter No. 519.  In that capacity on Sunday, June 4, 2017 the AHEPA Educational Fund was joined by 225 family members, friends, and members of the AHEPA family for the presentation of the 31st Scholarship Awards Ceremony at the Parish Life Center of the Holy Transfiguration Greek Orthodox Church in Marietta, Georgia. Since 1986, over $867,900 in scholarship money has been awarded to students, at the college and post Baccalaureate level, to help them with their college education.


AHEPA Prometheus Chapter No. 519 from Marietta provided a light lunch following registration of students, parents, presenters and guests. Opening remarks were made by Father Panayiotis Papageorgiou, PhD, and a welcome was given by Dr. Pandeli Durbetaki, Chairman of the AHEPA Educational Fund.  The highlight of the afternoon was the presentation of scholarships totaling $75,350 to fifty students from the greater Atlanta area. The scholarships were presented by Board Members Athena Economy, Karen Stamatiades and William Kantsios. Traditionally, additional scholarships are presented in memory of deceased members of AHEPA and the Daughters of Penelope.  This year, scholarships were presented in memory of Mrs. Bess Marianes, Mrs. Bessie Nikas, Mr. Peter Rumanes, Mrs. Fannie Sparks, and Dr. George Simitses, one of the Founders of the AHEPA Mother Lodge Chapter No. 1 Educational Fund.



A special presentation was made by Tom Kantsios, former Chairman, to Mercedes Paxton for her service as Secretary.  Dr. Pandeli Durbetaki, Chairman of the Foundation and Founding Board member was honored with a Distinguished Service Award for his leadership and commitment to the program for the past thirty-one years.


AHEPA Mother Lodge Chapter No. 1

Educational Fund Inc. Directors

Pandeli Durbetaki, PhD, Chairman

Thomas S. Kantsios, Past Chairman

Ted Kipreos, Vice Chairman

Mercedes V. Paxton, Secretary

William T. Kantsios, Treasurer

Athena G. Economy, Member

Zack A. Kollias, Member

Audrey J. Marianes, Member

George P. Patterson, DDS, Member

Keath Paxten, Member

William G. Simitses, Member

George Skoufis, Member

Ron Sprouse, Member

Karen B. Stamatiades, Member

Rebecca E. Stamatiades, Member

Michael Tsurutis, Member

William B. Marianes, Esq., Legal Counsel

AHEPA Mother Lodge Chapter No. 1 Educational Fund Awards $75,350 in Scholarships

Lee Durbetaki and Tom Kantsios presenting Distinguished Service Award to Mercedes Paxton

Lee Durbetaki receiving Distinguished Service Award from Tom Kantsios

2017 AHEPA Scholarship Recipients

bottom of page